Talk About It, Talk About It, Talk About it…

 

“If you talk about what you believe, you will attract those believe what you believe.”  — Simon Sinek

English: Simon Sinek speaking at TEDx Maastric...

So I listened to this TED Talk with Simon Sinek called “How Great Leaders Inspire Action.” I need to admit now that I had a very hard time concentrating on the message about leadership– a topic I’m passionate about– because I found Simon to be an incredibly arrogant and annoying speaker.  Sorry to Sinek & his fan club; he simply rubbed me the wrong way and I spent a good bit of my time feeling irked by him rather than concentrating on the concept he was trying to share.  However, there were a few things in the talk that moved beyond my annoyance and skepticism and really struck a chord with me.  The opening statement above is one of those golden nuggets, and I found it to be worthy of serious reflection. Now, in Sinek’s talk the focus was on leadership, particularly business leadership.  His example was Apple– a successful business– and how they are able to use his concept of starting with “Why” to influence “What” you do and “How” you do it in your organization.  But for me, “If you talk about what you believe, you will attract those believe what you believe,” resonates on a much more personal level than a business model.

 

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot more about faith– particularly my own and my relationship with God.  I suppose with age, we begin to feel a little bit more comfortable in our own skin.  And it’s in adulthood that your faith begins to take on a new shape, a personal shape– one that isn’t defined by your parents’ beliefs.  Because of this, I find myself allowing my faith and beliefs to appear in casual conversation and in visible ways as I go about my life.  And as I talk more about my faith, lo and behold! I’m finding other people who share similar beliefs and want to share.

 

There are some pretty obvious connections between the TED talk and one’s professional life.  I don’t work in the business world, but much of it applies to the customer service aspect of the job that I do in Student Affairs.  It goes further than that, though.  In Student Affairs, I feel that we’re often trying to justify our positions at the University. We’re trying to prove that as staff, we’re not second-rate to faculty– no disrespect to academia and the wonderful professors and instructors out there.  We really do have a value as part of the college experience, but sometimes it’s hard to get others to buy into that truth.  Instead of explaining what we do and how we do it.  Perhaps we need to explain more about /why/ we do our jobs. After all, most of us in Student Affairs aren’t in our positions because they’re financially lucrative.  We do our jobs because we’re passionate about student development and assisting students in their experiences at college.  So if we’re driven by this passion, it should be relatively easy to articulate /why/ we do what we do.  These beliefs out to be shared. And maybe if we talk about it enough, other like-minded folks at our campuses will become our champions.

 

Like most people, I’ve been shaped into the person I am from a combination of my upbringing and my personal experiences.  I have a code of ethics and a set of values that govern the way I live my life.  They also influence how I make decisions and what I am passionate about.  If I take Sinek’s message to heart, it seems that all I need to do to find others who share my passions and the standard by which I live my life is to openly talk about it.  For someone who loves to talk… this couldn’t seem much easier!

 

So I do believe that I’ll be utilizing this blog to talk about what I believe and what’s important to me in hopes of finding other people like me!  Are you out there? What is it that /you/ are putting out into the universe?

 

About DMarie2484

Devon Marie Purington is a Book-Readin, Article-Draftin, Muscial-Watchin, Coffee-Drinkin, Chocolate-Cravin, Pixie-Obsessing, Children-Adorin Residence Life Coordinator with a passion for education and student development inside the classroom and beyond.
This entry was posted in Self Discovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk About It, Talk About It, Talk About it…

  1. Pingback: Who Am I? Who Am I? I’m… | iPrattle

  2. Pingback: Start with Why --30sec Clip Tips - View from Above : View from Above

Leave a Reply

