The Not-So-Secret Review

Cover of "The Secret"

Cover of The Secret

Someone once recommended that I read a book titled The Secret.  It’s been on my list, but I hadn’t managed to purchase it or borrow it from the library.  As I was sifting through the movies offered by Netflix for instant view, I discovered that there was a movie with the same title and same general message.  Being bored and in between books, I decided to check it out.

The movie is slow and repetitive.  I can’t say it was a particularly pleasurable film to watch.  I didn’t grow attached to any of the experts sharing their opinions and I’m not sure I could relate to many of the examples shared.  In fact, I was so disengaged with the film that I was multitasking and just barely listening at some points.

But despite the above criticism, the movie left me thinking a lot about how I interact with the universe.  See, according toThe Secret, the key to achieving success in life– happiness, health, wealth, love, goals, etc.– is to put positive energy into the world and attract positive things into your life.  Like attracts like.

This is a tough sell for a realist, a skeptic, and especially a pessimist.  Really?! You’re trying to tell me that if I want good things to come into my life– if I want the bad things to stop coming into my life– I have to rearrange my whole pattern of thought and start seeing the world through rose-colored glasses?  I don’t -wear- rose-colored glasses. In fact, you know the cup half-full/half-empty question?  I’m more of a “someone took a sip out of my cup” kind of person.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not your constant downer who never has positive things to say about other people or the world.  In fact, I’m often the cheerleader in the lives of other people.  But when it comes to my own life, I’m a little more a lot more pessimistic.  I’m not really sure why that is, but I acknowledge it as a truth that I live with.

So, how does someone unaccustomed to thinking positively about her own life suddenly embrace this secret of the law of attraction and sound good juju out into the world?  Sure, the movie had some basic suggestions, but I’m skeptical– because my thinking has clearly not changed yet.  But I figure if I shift in perspective can bring me a life full of smiles instead of heartache, it is worth the effort.

So, I’m committing myself to looking for the silver lining.  That doesn’t mean I won’t acknowledge the doom and gloom, but I’ll try not to leave out the bright spots of situations.  I am going to surround myself with positive people with their positive thoughts.  Inspirational quotes and uplifting music will be my assistance when I notice a need for a shift.  And I’m going to try harder to be a positive person rather than merely a supportive person in the lives of other people.  Stay tuned for an update on how this is working out for me.

And please, feel free to share your inspirations and success stories, but kindly refrain from critical comments– on this post at least!

About DMarie2484

Devon Marie Purington is a Book-Readin, Article-Draftin, Muscial-Watchin, Coffee-Drinkin, Chocolate-Cravin, Pixie-Obsessing, Children-Adorin Residence Life Coordinator with a passion for education and student development inside the classroom and beyond.
This entry was posted in Movie Review, Self Discovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Not-So-Secret Review

  1. Pingback: Im POSSIBLE | The Creative Womb of An InfoPreneur

  2. Pingback: Who Am I? Who Am I? I’m… | iPrattle

Leave a Reply

