Just sayin’

In this impersonal text,

I’m just sayin’…

I ate ur plump, juicy plums.

They were good &

I ate them all up, but

They left a sour pit in my stomach.

U offered them 2 me;

I bet u knew they were bad.

I should b furious, but

They were the best I’d ever had.

Ever feel foolish? I do. Too often for my liking, actually.  I pride myself in being a pretty intelligent, educated, determined woman who accomplishes things in life.  And while I may be cautious in a lot of things in life, I still have this romantic, idealistic dreamer inside of me that teases my reason into submission from time to time.  And while running with those dreams and clinging on to hope can be some of the best moments of my life, full of enthusiasm and driven by passion, there comes a time when the rationale side regains control and I’m forced to face logic and reason.  I hate that part and it often leaves a bad taste in mouth– the taste of fruitless dreams and bitter memories.

But it’s better not to regret those foolish, spirited moments, right? Life is too short to be hung up on regret.  So I’ll brush my teeth of the aftertaste and seek out something new– chocolate sounds good about now.

About DMarie2484

Devon Marie Purington is a Book-Readin, Article-Draftin, Muscial-Watchin, Coffee-Drinkin, Chocolate-Cravin, Pixie-Obsessing, Children-Adorin Residence Life Coordinator with a passion for education and student development inside the classroom and beyond.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

