Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

I’ve always wanted to participate in a community of blogging where I was prompted to take part in a discussion much larger than the feeble one going on within my mind.  I’ve watched people share blogs connecting them back to the blogs of other people or topics introduced as a writing challenge and I always wondered how I got involved.  Ya know what? I still don’t really understand it.  I must be a blogging noob.

When I stumbled across the Daily Post and the concept of “post a day,” I thought I had found it. I’m still not sure I did.  The tips are great and it’s certainly a great place to look for inspiration, but I’m not sure it’s precisely the community and sharing of ideas I was hoping for.  Or maybe, since I haven’t really used it yet, I have no idea what I’m talking about and I’m simply rambling away without having any support behind my words. Yes, I do that from time to time. You do, too. Don’t kid yourself.

But today, I have decided to participate in the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge on “Create.”  Granted, I’m still confused about how it works. And I really have no idea how a weekly photo challenge is supposed to translate into daily posts, but musing aside, I was struck by something more.  It’s a photo contest.  I’m not the greatest writer ever born in the 80’s.  I’m not even the greatest writer born in the 80’s with a blog site hosted on WordPress.  Bummer.  But it’s true.  Despite that fact, writing has always been something that I have been interested in and that I have pursued on some level.  Hence, I blog.  The words just kind of spill out over the keyboard and end up here for you to read (or ignore, as you see fit).  But the bigger truth is that I am not a photographer.  Sure, I purchased a big fancy digital SLR camera with the intention of becoming an amateur photographer.  But the closest I have come is admiring the skills of others and doing some hopeless point-and-shoot.  Someday, perhaps I’ll push myself to do more.  But in the meantime, I’m sitting here wondering how my hope to participate in the “Post a Day” blog challenge is being thwarted by the concept of a Weekly Photo Challenge.

More importantly, I’m perplexed by the theme.  The challenge asks me to create something and frame it in a photograph.  The technical challenge of capturing a decent shot aside, I am boggled by the challenge to photograph that which I create at all.  I suppose I could photograph a craft project I’ve completed.  Or I could share a picture of one of the new Paleo recipes I have tried.  They are amazing, after all, and the bigger surprise is that I’ve been able to cook them! (Hey! Don’t hate; we can’t all be good at everything.)  But when I decided to blog, it was about individual expression of thought, which I find to be at the very heart of the creative process.  So if blogging is my creative outlet of choice, which it has been recently, how on earth am I to complete a challenge where I asked to photograph my end product?

I think what I’m ranting on about is that it’s very hard to capture creativity on film, except for those lucky ones who are creative in their photography itself.  When the average person snaps a picture, it captures but a shell of the creativity in the subject.  And to take it further, one can create so many wonderful things that would seem strange if they were photographed.  Songs cannot be photographed, though I suppose one could argue that the musical composition could be.  Poems would likely seem an odd subject for a picture.  But surely, a photograph of a blog would be among the strangest, would it not? Afterall, who takes a picture of their computer screen and submits that into a weekly photo challenge?

Me, that’s who.

There it is. My beautiful WordPress blog for this week’s photo challenge.  You must be amazed at my skills with the camera and the ever-so fantastic photo editing skills employed to this little beauty right here.  Okay, so it’s a quick snapshot of a blog where I do nothing but rant about my own perspective, but hey. It’s mine. And I created it. Thus, it suits the theme quite nicely if I do say so myself.

What? You wanted tricks? I don’t have many…

Is that better? No?  How about this:

Still not doing it for ya? Well, ya know what? That’s really all I’ve got.

About DMarie2484

Devon Marie Purington is a Book-Readin, Article-Draftin, Muscial-Watchin, Coffee-Drinkin, Chocolate-Cravin, Pixie-Obsessing, Children-Adorin Residence Life Coordinator with a passion for education and student development inside the classroom and beyond.
This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

  1. Terri says:

    Love it!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Missionary IOU 差 情 尋

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create | small house/BIG GARDEN

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Mike Hardisty Photography

Leave a Reply

